Game of Thrones Wine Recipe

IMG_2751

Stark wine… I should probably put a wolf on this instead.

A couple years ago, I wanted to make a nice holiday/winter wine that not only made me feel warm all over but made my house smell yummy all over. Since I was currently reading the Song of Ice and Fire series, in which they drink wine all the time (they’re a crazy bunch) I figured I would go to Google to find some random recipe to give a shot. What I found was a mulled wine that harkened to the wine those in the North drank. This was served to the Starks as well as at The Wall. Over the years, I have modified it by changing ingredients and measuring less. I know this may annoy a few of you but I am really not a concise recipe follower/creator. If you plan on making this, just have fun! Sampling along the way definitely helps (wink).

Ingredients:
• Red Wine
• Orange Juice
• Honey Whiskey (I recommend Wild Turkey American Honey)
• Oranges (of any kind, I use clementines)
• Cloves (whole)
• Sugar
• Cinnamon (ground and sticks)
• Nutmeg
• Honey

Dump the red wine into a large pot and put it on a low heat. You need to be careful because you don’t want to end up boiling out the alcohol. That wouldn’t be fun for anyone! You want it just warm enough to heat the ingredients so they’ll easily mix and warm you when you drink this. Add enough orange juice to equal half of the wine. I had a 1.5 L bottle of wine so I added 4 shots of honey whiskey but you may want to add less or more depending on how much of a Booze Hound you feel like that night. Cut 2 small/1 large orange(s) in half, place whole cloves into the flesh of the orange and place face down in the wine. Add 6 tablespoons of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, 2 sticks of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, and 3 tablespoons of honey.

IMG_2749

So the process doesn’t look too sexy…

For my next batch, I’m going to infuse the whiskey with apples and cinnamon. I may even create drinks for the other major houses. You can also watch the video of a very pregnant me making this last year. (No, I did not drink any. That’s why last year’s special ingredient was the tears I shed as I delivered each jar.) If you end up making this, please let me know if you make any changes to the recipe!

Leave a Reply

