Day of the Doctor Review and Rumors Abound Pt. 2

I only have a couple of complaints about the 50th Anniversary Special. I’m a bit surprised considering how much I watched leading up to the episode which usually leads to my imagination coming up with more than the show gives me. Okay, that’s really not so surprising, this is Doctor Who we’re talking about! This show rarely disappoints.

First off, Tennant’s hair. I know, I know, this really shouldn’t be my biggest disappointment but his mane just wasn’t up to its usually glory. John Hurt had better hair than 10, what a pity. I suppose, however, that if this is my biggest complaint that that says a lot about the show.

Other complaints: Timothy Dalton didn’t return as Lord President of the Time Lord Council (but maybe he’s battling the Master after returning from The End of Time?), Christopher Eccleston decided not to be a part of the special which made 8.5’s regen lackluster, and that it didn’t last long enough. Luckily, however, the internet has been flooded with rumors and speculations to keep us all busy until Christmas. It seems rather morbid to look forward to the Christmas special when we all know Moffat will be killing 11 but I can’t help it! I need more time with the Doctor, no matter what regen.

Now that 8.5 has been introduced, of course Whovians all over are getting caught up in the number of regenerations allowed in the folklore. It’s been known in the fandom that Time Lords are allowed 12 regenerations. Here’s what I’m seeing all over the internet: if we count them all up to this point, 8.5 counts as one and meta crisis 10 counts as another and this all adds up to 11 actually being the 13th form (12 regens) which means the Christmas special will actually be the death of the Doctor and Peter Capaldi will be someone else. After all, it’s Moffat we’re talking about and rule #1 is that Moffat lies. This would completely change the number of all Doctors back to John Hurt.

Here’s how I’m fairly certain we can chalk this rumor up to be false. Either false or we’re in for a fairly huge plot hole (’cause that never happens). If this were true, River/Melody Pond didn’t need to kill 11 in his regeneration cycle because he’d just die due to no more regenerations. Besides, why would Peter Capaldi have shown up in The Day of the Doctor as the 12th Doctor, quipping that he made them 13? Moffat isn’t exactly the kind of writer to backtrack one episode in a whoopsidaisy sort of fashion. I must admit, though, that I would love to at least see Moffat utter the word “whoopsidaisy.”

960063_701586659874240_177947312_n

Tee hee, it’s such fun playing with emotions!

What bothers me most about this rumor is that some sites are reporting this as fact from Moffat, while others are reporting a different story. It’s been reported that Moffat wishes fans would stop worrying about numbers so much, that it really isn’t important. Then he explains that what really matters is the name he takes and that John Hurt’s character never claims the name of the Doctor. However, I seem to recall at the end of The Day of the Doctor, he did. So this seems to be another rumor, or even just an interview with Moffat taken out of context.

There are many reasons we can believe Peter Capaldi’s Doctor will be able to regenerate, even if technically he’s the last of the allotted regens. The High Council of Time Lords offered a new regeneration cycle to the Master. It also seems possible that the Sisterhood of Karn are capable of brewing a potion to trigger a regeneration past the limit. Rassilon (Lord President) has also found immortality in perpetually regenerating his body. So you see, it really seems fruitless to worry so much about the amount of regenerations. Personally, I have a feeling that the Doctor (12) will try to find wherever Gallifrey is hidden and possibly unfreeze them. As a thank you, the High Council may possibly give him more regens. Who knows, maybe they’ll bring back the Master and Lord President and have a huge showdown. But we will just have to wait and see.

To sum this all up, my mindset on all of this stuff is we will just have to wait and see what happens on Christmas. It’s fun to speculate and guess, but there’s really no reason to get all worked up over the number of regenerations our favorite two hearted alien has gone through. Since The Day of the Doctor 3D was second in the box office in just one single night (number one slot held by Hunger Games: Catching Fire after opening weekend), it’s safe to say this show is far too popular to say goodbye to it any time soon.

What are your thoughts on the 50th Anniversary? Agree, disagree? Let me know! It’s far too much fun to talk Whovian.

3 thoughts on “Day of the Doctor Review and Rumors Abound Pt. 2

  1. Hi Amanda! I am also a big fan of Dr Who and though it was definitely a spectacular episode (I even had the pleasure to see it in 3D at the cinema), I was also left feeling slightly disappointed, puzzled and maybe just too critical.

    I agree there is something Moffatt is during in regards to the numbering system for the doctors and I do have a feeling that Matt Smith is technically the last doctor and a huge twist is to come to validate Capaldi’s generation. The Christmas episode to come in my view will be more important in terms of the large story arcs that have been over-shadowing the show since series 5: The Cracks from Amy’s room and The Silence which still hadn’t been resolved since Amy’s departure or even season 7 finale “The Name of the Doctor” will come into light. Since Matt Smith is leaving, it is only fair the story arcs associated with him are also wrapped up (which apparently they will be which makes me very excited!)

    Also did you notice the large plot/continuity gap between the end of : The Name of the Doctor” when Clara and the Doctor are trapped within his own time stream within Trenzalore and the beginning of “The Day of the Doctor”. Did the 50th anniversary episode take place before or after “The Name of the Doctor” or even DURING??? All this considering it was the first time Clara had seen the War Doctor in both episodes….

    Great Blog! Would love your further thoughts and check mine out too! 🙂 x

    • I really wish I hadn’t been too sick to see it in 3D, that would have been such a fun experience. Not just to watch the special all over again but to watch it in a room full of fans! I’ll admit, I kind of hated the first 40 minutes. I think that was mostly because of how long I’d been waiting for this special and how high my expectations had been. I think, though, taking a break in the middle helped me clear my mind because I definitely started enjoying it after that (even with the huge plot holes).

      I would absolutely love it if Moffat wrapped up the Silence. Especially with the tagline “Silence Will Fall.” I’m definitely intrigued to see what they’ve put into the Christmas Special. I think it’s safe to always assume Moffat has something hidden up his sleeve. It will definitely be interesting to see if Capaldi is somehow out of sync with the previous regens. I guess what I mean is if it’s the Doctor who finally understood that he didn’t have to carry the weight of killing his people and he’s decided to grow up. (I’m a weirdo, I’m totally not interested in the numbering, but moreso what the name means to him.) I’m not sure. What I am sure of is that Moffat will do a way better job of whatever I can come up with.

      I think the 50th at least happened after The Name of the Doctor since 11 told 10 he had been to Trenzalore and had seen their grave. Bear with me, I’ve got super preggo brain so I may have episodes confused here. If I do, I apologize and am open to correction. As it is, I don’t even remember where I parked my car this morning. 🙂 One thing I’ve noticed that they’ve done with 11 though, is that he leaves his companions for quite a while and we never really know what he was up to. That’s always bothered me a bit, but it wouldn’t surprise me if there was quite a large time gap between The Name of the Doctor and The Day of the Doctor.

Leave a Reply

