Is there finally an answer to World of Warcraft?

If you know me, then you know I was a vanilla WoW player. I still subscribe to the game because if I don’t have access to my Night Elf Priest, Aysun, I feel empty inside. She completes me. Seriously. Sometimes I log in for kicks and run around, which always ends with me getting bored because I only know 2 people in my guild now. All of my friends have quit and it’s just no fun without them. Don’t judge me, we were close!

I’ve been a Blizzard fan for a long time mostly because of their style and the depth of their storylines. After playing WarCraft 3 and reading the books that followed that story, Tyrande Whisperwind was my hero. When I had a quest to meet her in WoW I squeed. Full on schoolgirl squee action. That’s why it’s such a bummer to feel like I don’t belong in a world that I used to feel so in love with.

Replacing WoW has been even more difficult. I beta tested FF XIV and my interest in that only lasted a short while. Same with League of Legends. Today I stumbled across this article on IGN about WildStar. It sounds like Carbine is on the right track with WildStar! The article is quite long and extension but I’d definitely recommend reading through it all if you’re looking for a new MMO to call home. Looks like they’re getting back to that vanilla feeling (creating a vast new world with the fun of explorating) and also focusing on tank, healer, and damage. The below video gave me a couple of impressions with the style: mostly Dr. Brain meets Dranei meets Steampunk. Take a look at the video below and let me know your first impression! I’m not going to really get my hopes up with this yet but I’m definitely interested to see how it goes.

EDIT: Okay, it appears as though the embed code does not want to work for me. So here is a link to the video.

Leave a Reply

