Music for Geeks

I was talking with a good friend a while back about nerd music and how much we heart it. I love going to bed to the Final Fantasy IX: Piano Collections album because, well, have you heard it? It’s seriously awesome. As much as I love game soundtracks, I have a huge appreciation for nerdy lyrics. Probably because I couldn’t write a song to save my life. Note: I didn’t say good song. Any sort of lyric writing has me totally stumped! Here are my top 5 nerdy songs based on the lyrics:

5. MC Raiders – Myndflame, Illegal Danish

True, you have to have been a WoW raider at the time Molten Core and Onyxia were the only raids to really appreciate the lyrics in the this one. Myndflame put out some seriously hilarious content for their Illegal Danish movies and this song just blew me away way back when!

4. Talking Nerdy to Me – Team Blextrophy

I love the lyrics for the King of the Nerds – Nerd Anthem contest. Servants of the Forsaken Orb had a pretty good rap as well but I was totally rooting for Blexy. Plus, their costumes as so cheeky!

3. Game of Thrones Ultimate Birthday Rap Battle

This is a pretty good mashup of the GoT series and I’m going to go ahead and guess that these people are pretty awesome to hang out with. Also, it’s GoT related, so of course the lyrics are NSFW.

2. Frodo Don’t Wear the Ring – Flight of the Conchords

Have to give a shout out to my favorite kiwis! Flight of the Conchords are known for their tongue-in-cheek lyrics (robot binary solo anyone?)

1. World of Warcraft is a Feeling – PurePwnage

For anyone that played vanilla WoW, there’s so much in this song to laugh at. Everyone knows way back when, helmet drops were awful and a huge pain and when your class’s helm dropped, your /roll was some how the opposite of the amount of times you had actually ran the dungeon!

sig

p.s. Saving the top nostalgic songs for a later post!

Leave a Reply

