My Top Celebrigeeks

Remember when nerding used to be a bit closeted? Or maybe that was just me and my anti-social habits growing up but it definitely wasn’t so main stream. I certainly don’t remember game/comic/anime cons being a big deal when I was in high school. I remember hearing rumors of a small group of students meeting with my favorite teacher after school to play D&D. I never got invited. I am still bummed about that! But that just helps to prove my point here: such things weren’t widely talked about back in my day. (Great. All I need now is to yell at some kids for driving too fast in my neighborhood and I’ll officially be old.) But now there’s a con everywhere you turn. Except for in Alaska… We have just the one that’s put on by UAA’s anime club. But that’s another topic for another day! What I’m getting at is that the nerdverse has changed so much in even just 10 years, from actual hot-blooded females coming out about being full g33k to celebrities sporting their nerd cred for the world to see. Here’s my list of top celebrigeeks that have broadened my own nerdverse and I hope they can do the same for you!

4. Felicia Day

I have to admit, Miss Day is not exactly my favorite. (Long story short, she likes to complain a lot about weak female characters but all I can see her as is Vi, the awkwardly quirky and terrified slayer potential on Buffy the Vampire Slayer. She is quite the unfortunate oxymoron in my mind.) But there is absolutely no denying that she has done many wonderful things for nerdkind, like showing the world that gorgeous gals can love the nerdverse, play video games and rock at it. So even if I do find her a bit overrated, I cannot forget that I am pretty grateful to her for being a pretty great role model for gamer girls and, unlike Miss Day, I use that title in an empowering way. But that is definitely another story for another time.

3. Simon Pegg

There have been 2 things that have really impressed me about Simon Pegg, aside from the above quote. The movie Paul is the first. It’s not that I didn’t like Simon before I saw Paul it’s just that he wasn’t really on my radar. But the amount of geeky jokes he and Nick Frost put into that movie is so incredibly impressive and to be honest I probably missed about half of them! (Don’t judge me, I’m still catching up on a lot of things!) The second is that he has absolutely no desire to play the 13th Doctor. Now, before you le gasp at me, here’s why I’m imagining Simon is voicing that he would turn the job down: he was a baddie in the first season (episode 7, The Long Game)! So even if the writers could explain that away somehow, it would still feel wrong to me and I’m hoping it just feels wrong to Simon as well.

2. Joss Whedon

Face it, Joss has created so many amazing universes that the world just wouldn’t be the same without him. Aside from his amazing shows (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, the doomed Firefly, Dollhouse, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog, his coming show Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.) he’s also written, produced and directed a bajillion other universes (Toy Story, Serenity obvs, The Avengers 1 & 2, The Astonishing X-Men, The Cabin in the Woods, and the list just goes on and on and on). Maybe some day, when I’m swimming in my vault Scrooge McDuck style I’ll be able to afford a Joss bust just so I can have him on a literal pedestal. But for now, I’ll just settle for a figurative one.

1. Wil Wheaton

What girl didn’t have a crush on Wesley Crusher, pun totally intended? Or Gordie Lechance perchance. (Okay, okay, I’ll stop….) But what’s great about Wil these days is that, as he puts it, he’s sort of a professional nerd. There are many things to love about Wil: his explanation on why it’s awesome to be a nerd, he’s a stepdad (I personally think stepparents are amazing people), his Geek & Sundry show Tabletop. But my personal favorite is the celebrity games of D&D he plays with Jerry Holkins, Mike Krahulik (both from Penny Arcade), and Scott Kurtz (from PVP). Like I mentioned before, I’m still bummed I was never invited to play D&D all those years ago. But listening to these guys playing gives me hope that I can still get into something that is new to me and have an incredibly awesome time. All 4 start at different ranges of experience (Krahulik plays his first game in the first podcast) and the results are absolutely hilarious. If you’re into RPGs, jokes about Dwarves and utter hilarity you need to listen to these podcasts. (Note: Wil doesn’t join until the second series.) Hell, I even think my noob of a husband would enjoy these. And that’s saying something!

sig

Leave a Reply

