Xbox Feedback and Changes

Well it took them long enough! Microsoft just posted this update due to the feedback they’ve received from customers. Good news for anyone that preordered an Xbox One or was still on the fence, Microsoft has basically removed everything that gamers felt hindered the console. Which means you can share Xbox games, resell them, and rent them without the originally proposed fee. You will also no longer be required to have an internet connection. You merely have to set up your online account and connect when 1) you download a game purchased online and 2) you want to.

This makes me slightly regret preordering a PS4. The games that I really cared to play are being released for both consoles and many of my friends are in the Xbox camp already which means no playing with them. I guess, really, the only consolation for me is the ability to download PS3 exclusive games through the online store. Maybe when we have the money to buy both we will.

What about you guys? Do any of you think you’ll be switching consoles? Or is this too little, too late?

13 thoughts on “Xbox Feedback and Changes

  1. Sony has a huge advantage because they catered their console to be developer / user friendly. Microsoft developed their console to be publisher / 1st party friendly.

    The xbox hardware itself is less powerful and there is less memory available for use by games. I feel like 4-5 years down the road, developers will be struggling with the Xbox one like they do with the PS3 now.. but what do I know. I’m just a lowly gamer. πŸ™‚

    • Unfortunately your information is incorrect. The PS4 utilizes 8 GB of SDDR5 ram, while the Xbox One Has 8 GB of DDR3 ram. SDDR5 ram is more commonly known as video ram, and fails to calculate computer processes and handle multitasking anywhere near the efficiency level of DDR3 ram. In short, PS4 games will look slightly better, but Xbox One games will be able to run at a more stable pace.

  2. The PS4 utilizes custom buses and custom memory labels that cause the ram to treat the memory as video optimized or CPU optimized. The xbox one also consumes 3GB of RAM for system processes, leaving 5GB of ram for games to utilize. The PS4 utilizes 1.5GB of ram for processes, leaving 6.5GB of ram.

    I’m a software engineer at a game company. I am in favor of both platforms, because sales in both platforms result in more consoles going out, which results in more games being sold. I’m just stating what I’ve seen.

  3. There was never a used ‘fee’. This is the problem. MS messed up by releasing the information in pieces so even the most avid news followers didn’t really understand what it all meant.

    I liked the policies. Now that they have backtracked we will be losing out on a lot of the features they talked about at E3. No more family sharing, no more discless playing and instant switching between games, and no more smart match. It’s only a matter of time now before EA re-introduce online passes and used games are still restricted, except with Xbox One policies it was all built into the sale instead of faffing around entering codes, or bringing a game home to find out you need to pay another Β£10 for a pass.

    And the fanboys still aren’t happy. But such is life.

    http://dtiapril.com/microsoft-drm-policies-reversed

    • Definitely very interesting, you’re the first person I’ve heard mention there was no used fee. Definitely poor marketing.

      I have a friend that had already preordered the Xbox One and he’s incredibly disappointed that the console he thought he was getting is now being changed due to online whining. But I have a feeling Microsoft will slowly implement these things back into their tech. Quick change is never going to go over well but if you give people time to get used to the change, there is often less whining. Though the whining will never go away completely.

  4. My biggest problem was the internet connection. I live in the most populous parts of the state, but the internet connect goes in and out a lot due to the infrastructure (and electricity going out since we can’t “borrow” electricity from other states’ systems). My bf is in the military, too, and when they’re overseas they often don’t have a decent internet connection when they have one, let alone a consistent one.

    I haven’t bought anything yet, and I’m usually not a first adopter. I’ll wait until my more obsessive gamer friends have it for a few weeks before ordering mine.

    • Ugh, you guys have that issue too? AK’s net is really crummy. I hated raiding in WoW because of the bandwidth issues.

      Tell your bf thanks for his service πŸ™‚ My hubs was an Army scout and I know he hates hearing that but I still think they should all know they’re appreciated πŸ˜‰

      • I doubt it’s as bad as yours since I live near the city, but it’s not as stable as it is in other places. There have been quite a few bloggers who’ve said that dedicated internet shouldn’t be a problem because “real” gamers should have a strong internet connection, which just seems uninformed.

        I’ll let him know. πŸ™‚ It annoys him a bit, but he understands that it comes from a good place so he sucks it up. You can go ahead and thank your husband for me (silently, since it annoys him so much πŸ™‚ ). I live close to several bases, so it’s always been obvious to me how much servicemen and their families sacrifice.

        • Oh wow haha that’s ridiculous since “real” gamers can only have what’s available to them. How silly!

          I’ll send the hubs the vibe! Those guys are definitely a big deal even if they won’t admit it πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

