Shyamalamadingdong

Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. That title is how my mother pronounces M. Night Shyamalan’s name. Not that I can blame her, there’s really no reason to learn how to pronounce his name unless you want to talk about The Great Ruiner of Movies. Don’t get me wrong, I used to be a huge M. Night fan. Wide Awake is still my favorite plot twist. (Haven’t seen it yet? Don’t let the trailers or poster art sway you. There’s only one movie that was publicized far worse, and that’s Bridge to Terabithia.) The Sixth Sense, while it has gotten really old hearing countless “I see dead people” jokes, you cannot deny that it was so groundbreaking at the time it was released. Or maybe that’s just me because I too was scared of having to use the bathroom in the middle of the night for fear that something was lurking in the hallway. Unbreakable was great for the fact that Samuel L. Jackson was born to play a super villain (maybe just to balance out the fact that he is Nick Fury in real life). But I cannot deny that at this point: 1) I expected a huge twist from Shyamy and 2) he is undeniably starting to lose the spark.

Signs breathed new life into my love for M. Night. I saw it opening weekend and jumped, screamed, and laughed with the rest of the packed theater. When my friend dropped me off at home a stray cat in some long grass spooked us both and lead to me running to my front door with my friend screaming in her car “RUN!!!” But I have come to think the success of Signs is because of the cast. Mel PreMeltDown Gibson and Joaquin Phoenix were an amazing pair. It seems M. Night got lucky with the children (Rory Culkin and Abigail Breslin) as well because he hasn’t casted such a gift troupe ever since.

I absolutely loved The Village and Lady in the Water, unlike the rest of the world. But I must admit that they are both incredibly slow and possibly forced. While M. Night does often have an amazing lead actor (Bryce Dallas Howard, Paul Giamatti) that feel strong on screen, the other characters often fall flat. I’m going to guess that’s due to a terrible director because I love most of those actors!

When The Happening happened (pun? what pun?) I tried to be excited but at that point I was so used to being disappointed by M. Night that I downloaded a cam version from what I’m guessing was France. (Don’t give me that look, like you’ve never torrented before!) Here’s the thing… I loved the French version. It cut a majority of the violence and left the reactions to said violence. And as we all know, your imagination is way better than anything a filmmaker can create. So of course, I thought this movie rocked and couldn’t figure out why all of my friends hated it. Until, that is, I saw the US version. What a disappointment!

You can imagine my absolute horror when I heard that Shyamy was going to tackle one of my favorite shows, Avatar: The Last Airbender. So in the spirit of the box office failure of his new movie After Earth (and since I need a break form E3 stuffs), I thought it appropriate to share with you the Honest Trailer for The Last Airbender. It completely sums up how I feel about the utter failure of M. Night and what I now expect from his future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

