Winter is Coming!

During my usual morning romp through Twitter, I happened up this tweet:

I don’t know if you’re anything like the general populous, but Facebook games are often more annoying than they’re worth. I don’t want to send an invite to 20 friends so I can progress with my Farmville and I don’t want to get invites because someone needs more Vampyre friends! But then again, I love Game of Thrones & A Song of Ice and Fire. I’m kicking myself a little for reading through the books too quickly. Plus, after the lull from not having a GoT episode last Sunday I am having some serious Westeros withdrawal!! I figured it couldn’t hurt to at least try it out. And hey, if I had to add friends I at least have an onslaught of Facebook friends that love GoT/SOIAF as much as I do and hopefully more than they hate Facebook gaming requests.

There are 2 things you should know about me: 1) I’m a gaming mom, which means I really only have time to play when my kiddo is napping/down for the night and a game has to really hook me fast to get me interested enough to spend my “me time” on it and 2) I’m kind of an anti-social gamer. In fact, I loved playing the Guild Wars Beta because I could hire mercs instead of having to PuG it. Ugh… PuGs. (Of course, I did play Alliance on WoW which has a reputation for douchebaggery. Maybe PuGs aren’t so bad elsewhere? But I doubt it.)

Okay so on to the actual game! I have only gotten to Prologue, Part 5 since my kiddo decided he’s anti-naps today. Game of Thrones Ascent starts with character creation. Aside from a face and name, that’s really all that you choose at this point. After your first quest with your Sworn Sword, King Robert Baratheon the First of His Name gives you a title and lands (includes your very own Maester) and later you recruit more Sworn Swords, create your backstory, swear fealty to a Great House, and create your banner. Up to this point, adding friends has only served as an optional bonus or to add to my hunting party. If you’re not thinking “RAD!” by now then either you haven’t gotten into GoT/SOIAF at all or you are against fun. Or you really, really hate Facebook games.

As you progress through quests, your decisions in situations change your character with either increasing points towards the Old Ways or the New Ways, Family or Realm, Cunning or Truthfulness  and it all sort of feels like the old Choose Your Own Adventure books. Am I getting old? Do those things even exist anymore? I don’t know. But the fact that this game has me all nostalgic over my childhood and excited to feel like a part of one of my favorite book series, needless to say I’m hooked.

So I’d much rather a full MMO but I think, for now, this totally gives me my Westeros fix!

Leave a Reply

