I’ve Got Potter on My Mind

Yesterday, my office attended The Referral Summit. There was definitely some interesting stuff and at the end of the conference, we were split into our DISC profiles. If you’ve ever gone through this, then you know that DISC stands for Dominance, Influence, Steadiness, and Conscientiousness; or as our speaker put it, Go-Getter, Promoter, Nurturer, and Examiner. Or as I put it, Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Slytherin… No joke, all I could think the whole time was “yup, that’s a total Puff trait” or “geeze, get over it Gryffindor!” Which leads me to wonder… did Jo Rowling ever took this class or one just like it? Did she go through DISC profiling and think “Hmmm, this would make a really cool book some day.” Then, maybe, when she saw that adorable little boy with the adorably round glasses she said “AHA! Now I can use those DISC profiles“?? Who knows. All I know is that it makes way more sense why Gryffindors can totally rub me the wrong way at first. (And I don’t mean the false Gryffs. You know, the ones that saw the HP movies and oh emm gee must go get swag from Hot Topic and they’re going to buy Gryffindor gear because Harry was a Gryff and you know, they must be too. Okay, never mind. Those people totally rub me the wrong way too. But now I’m getting way off topic…)

The whole conference just completely verified my Hogwarts sorting. If you haven’t read Harry Potter (seriously, have you been living under a rock?) or are just unfamiliar with the houses/need a refresher, here are the house traits sung by the Sorting Hat throughout the years (and as you may/may not know, since Harry missed quite a few sorting ceremonies, we missed the songs those years as well):

Gryffindor – brave at heart, daring, have nerve, chivalrous, bold

Ravenclaw – wise, witty, love learning, fair, clever, intelligent

Hufflepuff –Β  just, loyal, patient, true, unafraid of toil, sweet, hard working, usually accepting or non-judgemental

Slytherin –Β  real friends, cunning, shrewd, ambitious, value pure ancestry (though we all know there were plenty of halfbloods)

I don’t know why this really fascinated me. And I don’t really know why I couldn’t think about anything other than Hogwarts while I was listening to our speaker. Has this ever happened to you, when a fandom just completely encompasses your life and relates to everything around you? Or is it just me? Maybe it’s just me but you know, there’s nothing I’d rather be than a Potterhead.

If you care to find out your Hogwarts house, check out Pottermore.com. Jo has helped them implement a pretty cool personality test that will get you correctly sorted. While you’re at it, feel free to add me: JinxHex6745.

sig

4 thoughts on “I’ve Got Potter on My Mind

  1. Yes, that happens to me constantly. It probably has to do with being part of the HP generation since for a little while there everything was Potter-related, and I loved the whole thing.

    I’m an actual Gryffindor (both with Pottermore and the really good psychology-based test that started going around maybe ten years ago). I hope you won’t hold it against me. (I only have one Gryffindor friend.) I was just wondering what House you identify with or was sorted into.

    • haha don’t worry, I have a couple Gryffindor friends! We just feel like oil and water for a while until I can recognize why. πŸ˜‰ I guess I just have too much Zacharias Smith in me. I’m a Hufflepuff through and through! I’ll admit, though, that I do have a bit of Slytherin in me as well. Hope you don’t hold that against me, Puffs definitely have a bad rep sometimes. πŸ™‚

      • Most of my friends are Slytherins and Hufflepuffs. The Slytherins are always “Why are you doing that? Stop and THINK, crazy person!” and the Puffs either rein me back or roll their eyes and go along with my crazy scheme. πŸ™‚ I love Puffs!

Leave a Reply

